Evidence of Editing: Back To The Future: “You’re George McFly!” (1985)

Back to the Future (4/10) Movie CLIP – You’re George McFly! (1985) HD

Editing in this clip

  • Eye tracking was used quite a lot, the main focus of the shot was in the same place when the clips cut.
  • I also noticed some cross cutting, when the characters were having a dialogue.
  • I also noticed something similar to a match cut, but done within a shot and without cutting.

What I liked

  • I liked the dialog, it made up have the same realization that Marty did.
  • I liked the pace, it didn’t seem too forcefully fast or slow.
  • I really liked the similarities in movement between Marty and George
  • I liked how you still had the main characters in the foreground, but something was going on between them in the background

What I learned

  • I learned that you don’t have to cut away to change the focus of a shot.
  • I also learned that when you cut the audio and the video can be really important.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *